× Home Journeys Ways of St. Jacques Monasteries
Danube Cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen

.....

Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Metten monastery Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen Passau.htm Engelszell

.....

Linz Ybbs Melk Klosterneuburg
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The once so rich and powerful monastery invites you to visit and stay. It suffered severely from the abolition in 1803 and a fire in 1813. Parts have been demolished and only recently partially added to. The monastery church St. Mauritius still dominates the surroundings like a cathedral. Its two towers rise seriously and powerfully above the Danube lowlands and herald the fame of the abbey. Even today, with its Ecumenical Institute, the Byzantine Deanery and the temporary monastery, it continues to give impulses whose influence reaches far beyond the Danube region.

Klosterkirche Niederalteich

In 731 (or 741) the Bavarian Duke Odilo founded a monastery on the Danube, which he called Altach and placed under the protection of the soldier Saint Mauritius. The Agilolfinger called monks from Reichenau to build the monastery in the marshland of the mouth of the Isar. The name Altach (meaning old water) indicates that at that time, the place was surrounded by an old arm of the Danube like an island. In Carolingian times the abbey with its clearings penetrated deep into the forests on the edge of the Bohemian basin. Salt and wine made it prosperous - salt from Reichenhall and wine from the Wachau. During the time of the Hungarian storms Altach, like all other monasteries, suffered great hardship and was transformed into a secular canonical monastery. Its restoration as a Benedictine monastery and its rise to Europe-wide renown is associated with the name of the holy abbot Gotthard (996 - 1022), who later became bishop of Hildesheim. Switzerland's mightiest Alpine pass is named after him. The abbey played an important role in the founding of important monasteries such as Kremsmünster. In the 12th century, Altach was given the name Niederaltaich to distinguish it from its nearby daughter monastery Oberalteich. A special fame of the monastery is its historiography. It has three highlights: the "Großer Altacher Jahrbücher" of the 11th century, the annals of Abbot Hermann in the 13th century and the scholarly historiography in the 18th century. Under Abbot Joscio Hamberger (1700-1739) the baroque new construction of the monastery complex began.

Secularisation inflicted lasting wounds. After a fire in 1813 several buildings were demolished. It was not until 1918 that the monks of Metten re-founded the monastery and settled there.

Sakristei

A view into the baroque sacristy is only possible with a guided tour.

The monks of the Abbey of St. Mauritius and St. Nicholas of Niederaltaich today live as one community in two traditions and celebrate monastic services in parallel according to the Roman and Byzantine rites.

Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Voyages Monastères Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu de la piste cyclable du Danube
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen

.....

Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Abbaye Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen Passau.htm Engelszell

.....

Linz Ybbs Melk Klosterneuburg
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Ce monastère, autrefois si riche et si puissant, vous invite à le visiter et à vous y attarder. Il a beaucoup souffert de l'abolition en 1803 et d'un incendie en 1813. Certaines parties ont été démolies et ne sont que partiellement achevées depuis peu. L'église du monastère de St. Mauritius domine toujours les environs comme une cathédrale. Ses deux tours se dressent gravement et puissamment au-dessus des basses terres du Danube et témoignent de la renommée de l'abbaye. Aujourd'hui encore, avec son Institut œcuménique, le doyenné byzantin et le monastère temporaire, il donne des impulsions dont le rayonnement dépasse largement la région du Danube.

Église du monastère de Niederalteich

En 731 (ou 741), le duc de Bavière Odilo a fondé un monastère sur le Danube, qu'il a nommé Altach et placé sous la protection du soldat saint Maurice. L'Agilolfing a appelé des moines de Reichenau pour construire le monastère dans les marais à l'embouchure de l'Isar. Le nom Altach (qui signifie vieille eau) indique qu'à cette époque, l'endroit était entouré comme une île par un ancien bras du Danube. À l'époque carolingienne, l'abbaye s'enfonce dans les forêts en bordure du bassin de Bohême avec ses clairières. Le sel et le vin ont fait leur prospérité - le sel de Reichenhall et le vin de la Wachau. À l'époque des tempêtes hongroises, Altach, comme tous les autres monastères, a connu de grandes difficultés et a été transformé en canonicat séculier. Sa restauration en tant que monastère bénédictin et sa renommée à l'échelle européenne sont associées au nom de l'abbé Gothard (996-1022), qui devint plus tard évêque de Hildesheim. Le col alpin le plus puissant de Suisse porte son nom. L'abbaye a joué un rôle important dans la fondation d'importants monastères tels que Kremsmünster. Au XIIe siècle, le nom de Niederaltaich a été adopté pour Altach afin de mieux le distinguer du monastère fille voisin, Oberalteich. L'une des gloires particulières du monastère est son historiographie. Elle compte trois points d'orgue : les "annuaires du Grand Altach" du 11e siècle, les annales de l'abbé Hermann au 13e siècle et l'historiographie savante du 18e siècle. Sous l'abbé Joscio Hamberger (1700-1739), la reconstruction baroque du complexe du monastère a commencé.

La sécularisation a infligé des blessures durables. Après un incendie en 1813, plusieurs bâtiments ont été démolis. Ce n'est qu'en 1918 que les moines de Metten ont refondé et installé le monastère.

sacristie

Une visite de la sacristie baroque n'est possible qu'avec une visite guidée.

Les moines de l'abbaye de Saint-Maurice et Saint-Nicolas à Niederaltaich vivent aujourd'hui comme une communauté à deux traditions et célèbrent les offices monastiques en parallèle selon le rite romain et le rite byzantin.

symbol velo symbol velo

Piste cyclable du Danube