× Home Journeys Monestaries
Way of St. Jacques Austria
Way of St. Jacques Austria Herzogenburg - Göttweig Göttweig Maria Langegg Maria-Langegg - Melk Melk - Maria Taferl   Maria Taferl Maria Taferl - Ybbs Salzburg Wörgl Innsbruck
Danube cycling
Passau

...

Pöchlarn Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monestary Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg entrance to Vienna Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Melk Benedictine Monastery

is situated on a hill above the Danube in Lower Austria at the beginning of the Wachau.

Melk Abbey

Margrave Leopold I made the castle in Melk his residence in 976 and his successors furnished it with valuable treasures and relics. For about 100 years Melk was the main castle and burial place of the Babenbergs in 'Ostarrichi', Bavaria's eastern Mark. When the margraves extended their power and moved their seat further east to Klosterneuburg, Margrave Leopold II gave the castle to Benedictine monks from Lambach in 1089. Since then monks have lived and worked here in uninterrupted succession according to the Rule of St. Benedict. Already since the 12th century a school has been connected with the monastery and valuable manuscripts have been collected and prepared in the library. At the time of the so-called "Melker Reform" in the 15th century, the monastery was the starting point of one of the most important medieval monastic reforms and maintained close ties with the humanists at the University of Vienna.

The baroque Melk Monastery

The magnificent baroque building, which is visible from afar today, was built by Jakob Prandtauer between 1702 and 1736. Important artists of that time (J. M. Rottmayr, P. Troger, L. Mattielli, A. Beduzzi, J. W. Bergl, P. Widerin etc.) contributed to the construction. After a fire in 1738, the church towers were fitted with the rococo helmets visible today.

1 / 5
Weg zum Stift
way to the abby
2 / 5
Babenbergertürme
towers from the time of the Babenberger
3 / 5
entrance
entrance to the abby
4 / 5
to the Passauerhof
towards Passauerhof
5 / 5
Passauerhof
the Passauerhof, the largest of 8 inner courtyards

Abbey visit:

Via the Kaiserstiege one gets to the first floor, where the tour starts in the 196m long Kaisergang.

Kaiserstiege

During the tour you will be surprised by a flood of pictures and frescos. Here is a small compilation of the paintings that one should see.

Famous in Melk Abbey are the frescoes in the Abbey Church by Johann Michael Rottmayer (1716-1722) and/or the ceiling frescoes in the Marble Hall and Library by Paul Troger from 1731 and 1732. Further Troger-frescoes can be found outside the viewing area in the Festival Hall of the Prelature, in the Kolomanisaal and in the Imperial Oratory.

Five of the six altarpieces of the collegiate church are also from Rottmayr and Troger. The sixth altarpiece, that of the Leopoldi Altar by Georg Bachmann (1650), is the only painting that was taken over from the old collegiate church in the baroque new building. It was probably reinstalled because it depicts the founding history of Melk.

A special feature is the gallery on the Kaisergang. It is a closed series of larger-than-life portraits of all Austrian regents from Leopold I to Emperor Karl I by Josef Kremer (around 1750) and from Maria Theresa onwards by contemporary painters.

The altarpieces by Jörg Breu the Elder (around 1500/1502) are remarkable in the newly designed Abbey Museum. These are eight panels, painted on both sides, of a late Gothic winged altar with depictions of Mary's life and the Passion story, among other things.

Prälatensaal

For me as a Cranach fan, the highlight is the Prelature's banqueting hall, which houses a baroque picture gallery with the panel painting "Madonna in the Vine Arbour" by Lukas Cranach (around 1525) and 146 small-format paintings, mostly copies after works from the 17th and 18th centuries. Unfortunately the banqueting hall is only open to the public on special occasions. I was lucky!


Bibliothek Stift Melk

Library with ceiling painting by Paul Troger


Alkane Stift Melk

The altane is the connecting balcony between the marble hall and the library. From the Altane there is a beautiful view of the Danube, the Wachau landscape as well as of the town of Melk and the Danube power station.


Stiftskirche Melk, Innenaufnahme

A view into the collegiate church. At the high altar the martyrdom of the apostles Peter and Paul is embodied.


Sarkophag des hl. Koloman

The left side altar in the transept contains the bones of Saint Koloman in a sarcophagus.

statue of Koloman

His statue stands to the west in front of the church.


External front of the Melk Abbey

The impressive 320 meter long outer front of the monastery.


bicycle symbol bicycle symbol

Danube cycle route


Maria Langegg

Muschelsymbol

Maria Taferl

× Home Voyages Monastères Pays et Villes Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Chemin de Saint-Jacques Autriche
Chemin de Saint-Jacques Autriche Herzogenburg - Göttweig Göttweig Maria Langegg Maria-Langegg - Melk Melk - Maria Taferl   Maria Taferl Maria Taferl - Ybbs Salzburg Wörgl Innsbruck
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Pöchlarn Wachau   Ruine du château d'Aggstein   Monastère de Schönbühel Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrée Vienne Vienne
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

L'abbaye bénédictine de Melk

lse trouve sur une colline au-dessus du Danube, en Basse-Autriche, au début de la Wachau.

Abbaye de Melk

Le margrave Léopold Ier a fait du château de Melk sa résidence en 976 et ses successeurs l'ont meublé de précieux trésors et reliques. Pendant une centaine d'années, Melk a été le principal château et le lieu de sépulture des Babenberg dans l'Ostarrichi, le Mark oriental de la Bavière. Lorsque les margraves ont étendu leur pouvoir et déplacé leur siège plus à l'est, à Klosterneuburg, le margrave Léopold II a donné le château aux moines bénédictins de Lambach en 1089. Depuis lors, des moines y ont vécu et travaillé en succession ininterrompue selon la règle de Saint-Benoît. Une école est associée au monastère depuis le 12e siècle et des manuscrits précieux ont été rassemblés et produits dans la bibliothèque. À l'époque de la "réforme de Melk", au XVe siècle, le monastère était le point de départ de l'une des plus importantes réformes monastiques médiévales et entretenait des liens étroits avec les humanistes de l'université de Vienne.

L'abbaye baroque de Melk

Le magnifique bâtiment baroque, visible de loin aujourd'hui, a été construit par Jakob Prandtauer de 1702 à 1736. D'importants artistes de l'époque (J. M. Rottmayr, P. Troger, L. Mattielli, A. Beduzzi, J. W. Bergl, P. Widerin, etc. Après un incendie en 1738, les tours de l'église ont été équipées des casques rococo visibles aujourd'hui.

1 / 5
Le chemin vers l'abbaye
Le chemin vers l'abbaye
2 / 5
Tours de Babenberg
de la période Babenberg
3 / 5
Entrée de l'abbaye
Entrée de l'abbaye
4 / 5
vers le Passauerhof
vers le Passauerhof
5 / 5
Passauerhof
Le Passauerhof, la plus grande des 8 cours intérieures.

Visite de l'abbaye :

En passant par le Kaiserstiege (Escalier de l'Empereur), vous atteignez le premier étage, où la visite commence dans le Kaisergang (Empereur Allée) de 196 m de long.

Escalier de l'Empereur

Au cours de la visite, on est surpris par une avalanche de peintures et de fresques. Voici une petite compilation des peintures que vous devriez voir.

L'abbaye de Melk est célèbre pour les fresques de Johann Michael Rottmayer (1716-1722) dans l'église collégiale et pour les fresques du plafond de la salle de marbre et de la bibliothèque réalisées par Paul Troger en 1731 et 1732. D'autres fresques de Troger se trouvent en dehors de la zone de visite dans la salle des fêtes de la prélature, le Kolomanisaal et l'oratoire impérial.

Cinq des six retables de la collégiale sont également de Rottmayr et Troger. Le sixième retable, celui de l'autel Leopoldi par Georg Bachmann (1650), est le seul à avoir été repris de l'ancienne collégiale lors de la reconstruction baroque. Elle a probablement été remise en place parce qu'elle représente l'histoire de la fondation de Melk.

La galerie sur le Kaisergang (Empereur Allée) constitue une particularité. Il s'agit d'une série fermée de portraits plus grands que nature de tous les régents autrichiens, de Léopold Ier à l'empereur Charles Ier, réalisés par Josef Kremer (vers 1750) ou, à partir de Marie-Thérèse, par des peintres contemporains.

Dans le nouveau musée de l'abbaye, les retables de Jörg Breu l'Ancien (vers 1500/1502) sont remarquables. Il s'agit de huit panneaux peints de part et d'autre d'un autel ailé de style gothique tardif, avec des représentations de la vie de Marie et du récit de la Passion, entre autres.

Salle des prélats

Pour l'amateur de Cranach que je suis, le clou du spectacle est la salle des fêtes de la prélature, qui abrite une galerie de peinture baroque avec le panneau "Madone dans la tonnelle de vin" de Lukas Cranach (vers 1525) et 146 tableaux de petit format, pour la plupart des copies d'œuvres des 17e et 18e siècles. Malheureusement, la salle de banquet n'est ouverte au public que lors d'occasions spéciales. J'ai eu de la chance !


Bibliothèque abbaye Melk

Bibliothèque avec peinture au plafond de Paul Troger


Alkane Abbaye Melk

L'Altane est le balcon de liaison entre la salle des marbres et la bibliothèque. Depuis l'Altane, on a une vue magnifique sur le Danube, le paysage de la Wachau ainsi que sur la ville de Melk et la centrale électrique du Danube.


Église abbatiale de Melk, photographie intérieure

Une vue de la collégiale. Le martyre des apôtres Pierre et Paul est incarné sur le maître-autel.


Sarcophage de St. Koloman

L'autel latéral gauche du transept contient les ossements de Saint Koloman dans un sarcophage.

Statue de Koloman

Sa statue se trouve à l'ouest, devant l'église.


extérieur du monastère

L'impressionnant extérieur du monastère, qui mesure 320 mètres de long.


Symbole du cycliste Symbole du cycliste

Piste cyclable du Danube


Maria Langegg

Symbole de Shell

Maria Taferl