× Home Journeys   Countries and cities Ways of St James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen
Passau - Vienna
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monastery Dürnstein   Stift Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrance Vienna Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

During the 11th century the Kuenringers came to Austria from the Bavarian-Saxon area. Asso von Kuenring acquired the area around today's Dürnstein, his grandson Hadmar I. built a first castle on the rock above the Danube, of which only ruins remain today. In 1192/93 the English King Richard I. Lionheart was imprisoned in the castle of the Kuenringers by order of the Babenberger Leopold V. A share of Richard's ransom money, which went to the Kuenringers, enabled the castle and town of Dürnstein to be expanded and flourished in the 13th and 14th centuries.

The Dürnstein monastery was settled by Augustinian canons in 1410. In the course of the 15th century they extended Dürnstein to a Gothic monastery complex. 300 years after the foundation of the monastery, Hieronymus Übelbacher was elected provost. The building was in poor condition, so he decided to baroque it.

Dürnstein, Turm der Stiftskirche

Most striking is the blue and white tower of the collegiate church, which has been restored to its original colouring. With its striking colours and the noble material that makes it look ceramic, it stands as an architectural signal in the landscape.

1 / 6
Dürnstein
Dürnstein
2 / 6
Dürnstein
Dürnstein
3 / 6
4 / 6
unteres Stadttor
Lower city gate
5 / 6
kleiner Nepomuk
small Nepomuk
6 / 6

Through the narrow main 'street' of Dürnstein you are only allowed to push the bike.


city wall of Dürnstein

The town wall of Dürnstein is preserved. The alley in front of it is funny called "Anzuggasse" (pull on alley). It leads from the bank of the Danube up to the town and here the horses had to pull on.


Kunigundenkapelle

The Kunigundenkirche is the oldest church in Dürnstein, was formerly a parish church and consecrated to St. Kunigunde - wife of Emperor Heinrich II. The church was built around 1200 and demolished in 1783. Only the tower and the sacristy remained.


Alkane

View of the Danube from the balcony of the monastery Dürnstein


bicycle symbol bicycle symbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Voyages Pays et Villes Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu Donaueschingen
Passau - Vienne
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs MariaTaferl Pöchlarn Melk Wachau   Ruine Aggstein   Monastère Schönbühel Dürnstein   Abbaye Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrée Vienne Vienne
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Au 11e siècle, les Kuenringer sont arrivés en Autriche en provenance de la région bavaro-saxonne. Asso von Kuenring a acquis la région autour de l'actuelle Dürnstein, et son petit-fils Hadmar Ier a construit un premier château sur le rocher dominant le Danube, dont il ne reste que des ruines aujourd'hui. En 1192/93, le roi anglais Richard Ier Cœur de Lion fut retenu prisonnier au château de Kuenringer pour le compte du Babenberger Léopold V. La rançon du Kuenringer lui fut versée. Une part de la rançon de Richard, qui revenait aux Kuenringer, a permis l'expansion et le développement du château et de la ville de Dürnstein aux 13e et 14e siècles.

Le monastère de Dürnstein a été fondé par des chanoines augustins en 1410. Au cours du 15e siècle, ils ont fait de Dürnstein un complexe monastique gothique. 300 ans après la fondation du monastère, Hieronymus Übelbacher est élu prévôt. Le bâtiment étant en mauvais état, il a décidé de le baroquiser.

Dürnstein, tour de la collégiale

Le plus frappant est la tour bleue et blanche de la collégiale, qui a été restaurée dans ses couleurs d'origine. Ses couleurs vives et le matériau noble qui lui donne un aspect céramique en font un signal architectural dans le paysage.

1 / 6
Dürnstein
Dürnstein
2 / 6
Dürnstein
Dürnstein
3 / 6
4 / 6
unteres Stadttor
Porte de la ville basse
5 / 6
kleiner Nepomuk
Petit Népomucène
6 / 6

Dans l'étroite rue principale de Dürnstein, vous ne pouvez que pousser le vélo.


Stadtmauer von Dürnstein

Le mur de la ville de Dürnstein a été préservé. Il est amusant de constater que la ruelle qui se trouve devant s'appelle "Anzuggasse". Elle mène de la rive du Danube jusqu'à la ville et c'est là que les chevaux devaient s'habiller.


Kunigundenkapelle

La Kunigundenkirche (Église de Kunigunde), la plus ancienne église de Dürnstein, était autrefois une église paroissiale et était dédiée à Sainte Kunigunde - épouse de l'empereur Heinrich II. L'église a été construite vers 1200 et démolie en 1783. Seules la tour et la sacristie sont restées.


Alkane

Vue du Danube depuis le balcon du Danube de l'abbaye de Dürnstein


symbol velo symbol velo

Piste cyclable du Danube