× Home Journeys Ways of St. James
Einsiedeln - Interlaken shell symbol
Einsiedeln Einsiedeln - Schwyz Schwyz - Beckenried Beckenried - Stans Stans - Sachseln Sachseln - Brünig Brünig - Interlaken
Interlaken - Ship - Spiez shell symbol
Interlaken - Spiez
Interlaken - Thun shell symbol
Interlaken - Gunten Gunten - Thun Thun Thun - Gwattegg Spiez - Wattenwil Wattenwil - Rüeggisberg Rüeggisberg - Schwarzenburg Schwarzenburg - Fribourg Fribourg Fribourg - Hauterive Hauterive   Payerne Hauterive - Romont Romont - Moudon Moudon - Chalet à Gobet Chalet à Gobet - Lausanne Lausanne
History and stories Interesting things Whats new?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag
Wattenwil, Kirche

From Wattenwil the path leads uphill past the church (pilgrims' stamp) standing next to the old schoolhouse.

Here a view back to Wattenwil and the church.


Jakobsweg kurz nach Wattenwil

The path shortly after Wattenwil


Schloss Burgistein

It always leads uphill to Burgistein village. Opposite on a hilltop, Burgistein Castle, built around 1260, looks over to us. It was rebuilt after being destroyed in the Laupen War in 1336. From 1493 to 1690 it belonged to the mayor of Bern, Jakob von Wattenwyl, who undertook major renovations during his time.

For a larger view touch the picture with the mouse

Note for photoshop fans: When zooming in, the lock will be bigger, but the clouds will not get bigger!


farmhouse in Weierboden

Farm in Weierboden


signpost Weierboden 785m

After Burgistein in the village part "Bim Weier" (at the pond) we reach the highest point and continue our pilgrimage through a flat meadow high valley, past beautiful farm settlements, to Riggisberg.


church Riggisberg

At the entrance to Riggisberg you can see Riggisberg Castle, built around 1700 by Albrecht von Erlach, on a hill. Today it is used as a dormitory. Above the centre of the village with its beautiful castle park is the old Riggisberg church. It was originally consecrated to Saint Sebastian. A new nave was added to the late Romanesque choir tower of the parish church in 1687, which was replaced by an even larger one in 1939 and 1979.

The romanesque tower:

parish chrch Riggisberg

We continue to walk up a natural road and follow a chain of hills to the west. If the weather would have allowed it, we would have had a magnificent view of the Bernese Alps and the Gantrisch region, so we had to be content with the view of the vast hilly landscape of the Schwarzenburgerland.


Martins church Rüeggisberg

The Way of St. James leads past the Martinskirche Rüeggisberg. Parts of the west and south walls of the early Romanesque building (10th-11th centuries) have been preserved with tower foundations on the south side of the church. The foundation is said to date back to Queen Bertha of Burgundy.


monastery ruins Rüeggisberg

In Rüeggisberg we meet the famous monastery ruins. The once important site of the former Cluniac priory was once an important place of refuge for pilgrims. The history of the monastery dates back to 1072.

× Home Berg & Ski Famille Voyages Les chemins de Saint Jacques
Einsiedeln - Interlaken Symbole de la coquille
Einsiedeln Einsiedeln - Schwyz Schwyz - Beckenried Beckenried - Stans Stans - Sachseln Sachseln - Brünig Brünig - Interlaken
Interlaken - Bateau - Spiez Symbole de la coquille
Interlaken - Spiez
Interlaken - Thoune Symbole de la coquille
Interlaken - Gunten Gunten - Thoune Thun Thoune - Gwattegg Spiez - Wattenwil Wattenwil - Rüeggisberg Rüeggisberg - Schwarzenburg Schwarzenburg - Fribourg Fribourg Fribourg - Hauterive   Payerne Hauterive Hauterive - Romont Romont - Moudon Moudon - Chalet à Gobet Chalet à Gobet - Lausanne Lausanne
Histoire(s) Intéressant Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Wattenwil, église

Depuis Wattenwil, le sentier monte, passe devant l'église (cachet du pèlerin) à côté de l'ancienne école.

Voici une vue en arrière vers Wattenwil et l'église.


Le chemin peu après Wattenwil

Le chemin peu après Wattenwil


château de Burgistein

Il mène en montée constante au village de Burgistein. En face, au sommet d'une colline, le château de Burgistein, construit vers 1260, nous regarde. Il a été reconstruit après avoir été détruit lors de la guerre de Laupen en 1336. De 1493 à 1690, il a appartenu au maire de Berne, Jakob von Wattenwyl, qui y a apporté d'importantes modifications en son temps.

Pour une vue plus grande, touchez l'image avec la souris.

 

Note pour les fans de photoshop : Quand on zoome, le château devient plus grand, mais pas les nuages !!!


Ferme à Weierboden

Ferme à Weierboden


Signe de randonnée Weierboden 785m

Après Burgistein, dans la partie du village "Bim Weier", nous atteignons le point le plus élevé et continuons notre pèlerinage à travers une haute vallée de prairies plates, en passant par de belles fermes, jusqu'à Riggisberg.


Église de Riggisberg

À l'entrée de Riggisberg, vous pouvez voir le château de Riggisberg, construit vers 1700 par Albrecht von Erlach, sur une colline. Aujourd'hui, elle est utilisée comme maison d'habitation. Au-dessus du centre du village, avec son beau parc du château, se dresse l'ancienne église de Riggisberg. Elle était à l'origine dédiée à Saint Sébastien. Une nouvelle nef a été ajoutée à la tour de chur de style roman tardif de l'église paroissiale en 1687, qui a été remplacée par une autre encore plus grande en 1939 et 1979.

La tour romane :

Église de Riggisberg

Nous montons plus haut sur un chemin naturel et suivons une chaîne de collines en direction de l'ouest. Si le temps l'avait permis, nous aurions pu profiter d'une vue magnifique sur les Alpes bernoises et la région du Gantrisch, mais nous avons dû nous contenter de la vue sur le vaste paysage vallonné du Schwarzenburgerland.


L'église St. Martin Rüeggisberg

Le chemin de Saint-Jacques passe devant l'église Saint-Martin de Rüeggisberg. Des parties des murs ouest et sud de l'édifice roman primitif (10e-11e siècle) ont été préservées avec les fondations de la tour sur le côté sud de l'église. La fondation remonterait à la reine Berthe de Bourgogne.


Ruines du monastère Rüeggisberg

À Rüeggisberg, nous tombons sur les célèbres ruines du monastère. L'important complexe de l'ancien prieuré clunisien était autrefois un important lieu de refuge pour les pèlerins. L'histoire du monastère remonte à 1072.