× Home Journeys shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James Alsace
Overview Speyer Speyer - Germersheim Germersheim - Herxheim Herxheim - Klingenmünster Klingenmünster Klingenmünster-Wissembourg Wissembourg Wissembourg - Surbourg Surbourg - Haguenau Haguenau Marienthal Monastery Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Drapeau allemand Drapeau français British flag

At the hotel "Stiftsgut Keysermühle" we woke up in the morning well rested, but the steady drumming of the rain did not really invite us to continue. That was the rainy day. Continuous rain was forecast from early to late, a test for the rain gear.

The rain doesn't bother me that much when I'm hiking. Only the area looks much friendlier in the sunshine and today we have a nice stage on the programme.

Klingenmünster Kirche

When we leave our pilgrim hostel, the Hotel Stiftsgut Keysermühle, it is raining.


Burg Landeck im Nebel

We are heading out of Klingenmünster. Landeck Castle towers above us.


Klingenmünster von oben

In the forest, the path goes steeply uphill over many stone steps. At the top, Klingenmünster lies before us. Use the sun button to conjure up some sunshine in the picture.


Weindorf Gleiszellen-Gleishorbach

We approach the next wine village Gleiszellen-Gleishorbach with the church St. Dionysius on the hill.


Winzerhäuser in Gleiszellen

We walk through Gleiszellen.


David mit Wollmütze

On this day, a rain hat would have been better than the woolly hat!


Weinstube "Zum Alten Fritz" in Gleiszellen

Unfortunately, we do not have time to visit the wine tavern "Zum Alten Fritz" in Gleiszellen.


Gleiszellen

Too bad it's raining. But it's so simple - try the sun button!


Gleiszellen von oben

View of the wine village Gleiszellen from the Dionysius Church. Unfortunately, the church is closed.


Way through vinyards

The rain does not let us down on our way through the wine-growing region to Bad Bergzabern.


castle Bergzabern

Bergzabern Castle was once the residence of the dukes of the Wittelsbach line Palatinate-Zweibrücken. It is the town's landmark. The four-winged Renaissance building was built between 1526 and 1579. The ornamental façade of the south wing is flanked by two former defence towers from the 16th century. The flight of steps was built in the 19th century. Today, the complex is the seat of the municipal administration.


Gasthof zum Engel Gasthof zum Engel

The inn Zum Engel is one of the most beautiful Renaissance buildings in southwest Germany. Built from 1556 to 1579, it served as the official residence of the chief bailiff of the Dukes of Palatinate-Zweibrücken. Today, the building houses a restaurant and the town's museum of local history.

Gasthaus Engel
×

With the sun button you can see a good weather photo of the Engel inn.


Market church

The Lady Chapel (Marienkapelle) of the 12th century became a three-nave hall church in the 14th century. Parts of the choir, fragments of the painting of the choir room and the keystone with the coat of arms of Count Walram II, who had owned Bad Bergzabern since 1333 and ruled until 1366, can still be seen. In 1550, the northern aisle was demolished to extend the market square. It was not until the rebuilding of 1894 - 1897 that the Marktkirche got its present external appearance. The Marktkirche has been used by Protestants since 1532. From 1686 to 1879, the Catholic congregation also celebrated its services in the choir room, while the Protestants were assigned the nave. In the bell tower, the most beautiful medieval bell in the Palatinate, the precious Marienglocke (1432), chimes the hour.


Jakobus

We enjoy a statue of St James on the bay window next to the Market Church.

Jakobus


Martinschurch on Ludwigsplatz

The Catholic Church of St. Martin on Ludwigsplatz, built in 1877-1879 in neo-Gothic style, is the baptismal church of the Jewess Edith Stein, who was baptised here on 1 January 1922 and canonised by Pope John Paul II on 11 October 1998. In the meantime, the church's furnishings have been especially designed with Edith Stein in mind. Edith Stein died in the Birkenau concentration camp.


aus einem Baumstamm geschnitzte Jakobusstatue

We walk through the Kurpark, past the thermal baths with the Petronella Spring - a sodium chloride thermal spring. The water comes from a depth of 450 metres.

Jakobus
×

At the end of the Kurpark we discover a large statue of St. James - click on it!


houses in Dörrenbach

After Bad Bergzabern we walk through a vineyard and a forest and arrive in the picturesque wine village of Dörrenbach with many beautiful half-timbered houses.


"Weinstube unter der Linde" in Dörrenbach

We stop at the "Weinstube unter der Linde" in Dörrenbach and have enough of the rain.

We cover the rest of the distance to Wissembourg by bus.


The stately town hall is particularly worth seeing. The Renaissance town hall from 1590/1591 is one of the most beautiful buildings in the Palatinate. The three-storey half-timbered gable has numerous carvings. The church of St. Martin is a fortified church. The oldest parts of today's church date back to around 1300. The fortified character is expressed in the up to two metre thick walls and the fortification of the cemetery grounds.


German wine gate

The German Wine Gate. It marks the beginning of the southern wine route.

× Home Voyages Le symbole de la moule de Jacob Les chemins de Saint Jacques
symbole du coquillage Chemin de Saint-Jacques d'Alsace
Aperçu Spire Spire - Germersheim Germersheim - Herxheim Herxheim - Klingenmünster Klingenmünster Klingenmünster-Wissembourg Wissembourg Wissembourg - Surbourg Surbourg - Haguenau Haguenau Prieuré de Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
Histoire(s) points intéressants Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ sélection Drapeau allemand Drapeau français British flag

À l'hôtel "Stiftsgut Keysermühle", nous sommes réveillés le matin bien reposés, mais le tambourinage constant de la pluie ne nous a pas vraiment invités à continuer. C'était le jour de pluie. Une pluie continue a été prévue de tôt à tard, un test pour l'équipement de pluie.

En randonnée, la pluie ne me dérange pas tant que ça. Seule la région semble beaucoup plus accueillante au soleil et aujourd'hui est une belle étape au programme.

Église Klingenmünster

Alors que nous quittons notre auberge de pèlerins, l'hôtel Stiftsgut Keysermühle, il pleut.


Le château de Landeck dans le brume

Il sort de Klingenmünster. Le château de Landeck est situé au-dessus de nous.


Klingenmünster le haut

Dans la forêt, il monte à pic par de nombreux escaliers de pierre. Au sommet, le Klingenmünster se trouve devant nous. Faites apparaître un peu de soleil sur l'image avec le bouton soleil.


Village du vin Gleiszellen-Gleishorbach

Nous approchons du prochain village viticole Gleiszellen-Gleishorbach avec l'église St. Dionysius sur la colline.


Maisons de vigne à Gleiszellen

Nous traversons Gleiszellen.


David avec une casquette en laine

Ce jour-là, un chapeau de pluie aurait été mieux que le chapeau de laine !


Weinstube "Zum Alten Fritz" in Gleiszellen

Malheureusement, nous n'avons pas le temps de visiter la taverne à vin "Zum Alten Fritz" à Gleiszellen.


Gleiszellen

Dommage qu'il pleuve. Mais c'est si simple - essayez le bouton du soleil !


Gleiszellen le haut

Vue de l'église Dionysius sur le village viticole de Gleiszellen. L'église est malheureusement fermée.


Sentier à travers les vignobles

La pluie ne nous abandonne pas non plus sur notre chemin vers Bad Bergzabern, à travers la région viticole.


Château de Bergzabern

Les ducs de la ligne Wittelsbach Palatinat-Zweibrücken résidaient autrefois dans le château de Bergzabern. C'est l'emblème de la ville. Le bâtiment Renaissance à quatre ailes a été construit entre 1526 et 1579. La façade ornementale de l'aile sud est flanquée de deux anciennes tours de défense du XVIe siècle. La volée de marches a été construite au XIXe siècle. Aujourd'hui, le complexe est le siège de l'administration municipale.


L'auberge de l'ange L'auberge de l'ange

Le Gasthaus Zum Engel est l'un des plus beaux bâtiments de la Renaissance dans le sud-ouest de l'Allemagne. Construite de 1556 à 1579, elle a servi de résidence officielle au chef huissier des ducs de Palatinat-Zweibrücken. Aujourd'hui, le bâtiment abrite un restaurant et le musée d'histoire locale de la ville.

L'auberge de l'ange
×

Avec le bouton soleil, vous voyez une photo du bon temps du GH Engel.


Église du marché

La Chapelle de la Dame (Marienkapelle) du XIIe siècle est devenue une église à trois nefs au XIVe siècle. On peut encore voir des parties du chur, des fragments de la peinture de la salle du chur et la clé de voûte avec les armoiries du comte Walram II, qui possédait Bad Bergzabern depuis 1333 et a régné jusqu'en 1366. En 1550, l'allée nord a été démolie afin d'agrandir la place du marché. Ce n'est que lors de la reconstruction de 1894 - 1897 que la Marktkirche a obtenu son aspect extérieur actuel. L'église du marché est utilisée par les protestants depuis 1532. De 1686 à 1879, la congrégation catholique célébrait également ses services dans la salle du chur, tandis que les protestants se voyaient attribuer la nef. Dans le clocher, la plus belle cloche médiévale du Palatinat, la précieuse Marienglocke (1432), sonne l'heure.


Jakobus

Nous apprécions une statue de Saint Jacques sur l'oriel à côté de l'église du marché.

Jakobus


L'église Saint-Martin sur la Ludwigsplatz

L'église catholique Saint-Martin sur la Ludwigsplatz, construite entre 1877 et 1879 dans un style néo-gothique, est le baptistère de la femme juive Edith Stein, qui y a été baptisée le 1er janvier 1922 et canonisée par le pape Jean-Paul II le 11 octobre 1998. En attendant, le mobilier de l'église a été spécialement conçu pour Edith Stein. Edith Stein est morte dans le camp de concentration de Birkenau.


aus einem Baumstamm geschnitzte Jakobusstatue

Nous promenons dans le parc de la station thermale, en passant devant le bain thermal de la source Petronella - une source thermale de chlorure de sodium. L'eau provient d'une profondeur de 450 mètres.

Jakobus
×

A la fin du parc thermal, nous découvrons une grande statue de St Jacques - cliquez dessus !


Maison à colombages à Dörrenbach

Après Bad Bergzabern, nous marchons à travers un vignoble et une forêt et nous arrivons dans le pittoresque village viticole de Dörrenbach avec de nombreuses belles maisons à colombages.


"Weinstube unter der Linde" in Dörrenbach

Nous arrêtons à la "Weinstube unter der Linde" à Dörrenbach et nous en avons assez de la pluie.

Nous parcourons le reste de la distance jusqu'à Wissembourg en bus.


L'hôtel de ville majestueux vaut particulièrement la peine d'être vu. L'hôtel de ville Renaissance de 1590/1591 est l'un des plus beaux bâtiments du Palatinat. Le pignon à colombages de trois étages est orné de nombreuses sculptures. L'église de Saint-Martin est une église fortifiée. Les parties les plus anciennes de l'église actuelle datent d'environ 1300. Le caractère fortifié s'exprime dans les murs d'une épaisseur pouvant atteindre deux mètres et dans la fortification du terrain du cimetière.


La porte des vins allemands

La porte des vins allemands. Elle marque le début de la route des vins du sud.